life’s little joys

18Feb08

So, I picked up my needles on late Saturday night for the first time since I’d gotten sick on Tuesday. (And, come to think of it, I don’t think I’d knitted a few days before either – I was doing some pricing for the Midwest Moonlight Scarf for my mom) It was so strange – holding the yarn and the needles in my hands felt foreign to me, although my hands and mind seemed to know what they were doing. I still remembered the simple lace pattern for tree jacket and my finger still held the yarn the way I accustomed myself to in all my practice but it just didn’t feel like my everyday pastime. It felt, new. Very weird, but awesome at the same time!

Anyway, so recovery day two (Sunday) - I’m able to do some things around the house so I’ve got the laundry machine going and the house to myself – except my seven and a half month old pitbull puppy and a headstrong, mischievious kitty who belongs to my sister in law. This cat is funny. He’s completely snow white with only a patch of grey on his head between his ears which goes perfectly across his forehead and down the back of his neck and then ends, like a hairline. It’s even got a Bad Toupeewhite line down the middle in the front that looks like his ‘hair’ is parted! It looks like a really, really bad toupee. Anyway, so I’m sitting on one of our couches with three balls of yarn that I managed to get tangled up a few months ago in an effort to make a multi color scarf resembling one I saw at American Eagle when I hear the pitter patter of little feet running around the main floor (which is upstairs). I go to the bottom of the stairs and look up, calling “Naaaaaaaaaaaaasssshhh” (my dog) and all of a sudden I see a blitz of white running past the entry way to the stairs and then my dog chasing that mean little cat (who can be quite sweet when he isn’t scratching up my puppy’s little nose!) So, I get my dog to come downstairs and lay down and that cat comes padding down the stairs, snooping around the couches checking everything out with this look of pure victory on his face while my dog, who knows not to move from his spot, stares on sadly. Animals are so funny to watch. I’ve had cats all my life and Nash is my first dog – he’s what I’ve been looking for all along, though. A little companion who wants to hang out with me and cuddle. He’s really attached and maybe a little needy. I always got sad and frustrated with my cats didn’t want to be near me (I was younger, lol). But, it’s so funny to have both animals under the same roof. They really are as different as night and day, but they enjoy each others’ company most of the time so it makes their friendship rather cute.

061

The cat got away again this morning – except this time he’s on the other side of a makeshift ‘fence.’

Now on to the knitting thing!

091

a little dark – sorry :(

081

Tree jacket is progressing slowly at the moment, especially with the lull in my knitting this last week. I tried it on again though and here’s how it’s looking at the measurement from underarm to hem that the designers say to start casting off. I think I’ll go another 2 inches or so. I don’t like short sweaters at all. Anyway, I didn’t do any shaping (it’s not really recommended with this pattern and I didn’t want to mess anything up) but its fitting me quite well. Hopefully my self-taken pictures are okay. ;) I should be done with this soon but I didn’t have the nerve to keep working on it so I’m doing some swatching with some Moda Dea Washable Wool that I bought from Joann’s months ago for a mini scarf or something.  The weather is warming up a bit and the sky is getting a little more blue everyday so I’m wanting to make something a little lighter than a sweater after Tree Jacket is finished before moving on the Somewhat Cowl. I’m thinking some little shrugs (finish my ribbed lace bolero maybe?), or the big, almost daring Snezi shrug from Sensual Knits. I’m definitely feeling an itch to make some springy/summery camis…. summertime tunic and vixen camisole especially. Anyone ever use Debbie Bliss Cathay and like it? I may use that for the tunic but I’m not sure – maybe a mercerized cotton or something. I joined the yarn of the month club yesterday so that should be interesting – get to play with new yarns and swatch and see what I like without nagging everyone else for their opinion!! Here are the colors I’m considering, though, for the summertime tunic. What do you guys think??

wine.jpg a lovely mercerized cotton in wine or cathayorange.jpg a cotton/silk blend in orange (or black?) (Horrible pictures, sorry)

Anyway, this is by far my longest post so I’ll shut up now! Ciao!

4 Responses to “life’s little joys”

  1. I hope you feel better soon! Isn’t it amazing that you can’t knit when you are sick. I was too tired to move my needles.

    Tree Jacket is looking great! I love it! I think a couple more inches in length would be great. I don’t too short sweaters either (unless they are meant to be that way!).

    I have used Debbie Bliss Cathay and I love it. It was wonderful to work with.

  2. I am glad to see that you are feeling better. I missed hearing from you. It sucks to be so sick that you can’t even knit. One day I got rushed to the ER, and told my mom “make sure they let me keep my knitting” in case I had to stay in the hospital overnight. She looked at me like I was crazy, but for the remaining week that I had to be home, I made some serious progress on a sweater.

    Your Tree sweater is looking very nice, and I will agree that lengthening two inches won’t hurt at all. The fit looks great on you!

  3. Glad youre feeling better. Sweater is looking good.

  4. 4 Nik

    I can’t wait to see it done.

    What pattern did you use for that cabled bag? I want to make one with the same yarn you used. It’s SO my style.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

