Long Time No See

17Apr08

So it’s been a while hasn’t it? I’m very sorry that I slacked off in my writing… thing is, I also slacked off in my knitting. The tree jacket has been hibernating since my last post, although I only need two more inches on the body before I can do the sleeves and call it done. I think I need some motivation? lol! Especially when I’m this close to being done.. Speaking of which…. Lara, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry I failed to be a motivation to you with the tree jacket 😦

Not a lot of new developments in my life in general, but…. On the knitting front, I’m currently, but slowly, working on the Somewhat Cowl. I’m almost at the point that I can separate the sleeves from the body but at the point I’m at now, the stitches belonging to the sleeve I’ve figured out will make a sleeve 1.5-2″ bigger in circumference than my actual arm, and I’ve read the comments of quite a few people who have complained about the arms being too big. They’re that much bigger than mine already and I’ve still got another inch in which to do increases! So right now, that project is on hold until I figure out what I can do with it. Knit/purl backwards to the spot that the circumference is only .5-1″ greater than my arm circumference and then work even on the arms but only increase on the body? Bleh, who knows..

Another thing is I’m currently teaching myself to crochet so that I can make the Hourglass Jacket from Stitch Diva Studios. I’ve been practicing like no tomorrow using video tutorials on YouTube and I think I’m getting the hang of it! I bought the Happy Hooker book to learn from as well. If you haven’t seen it, here is the Hourglass Jacket – I’m DYING to make it and I’m determined to learn to crochet just to make this cute little number!!! Here are some practice swatches – they aren’t the best looking in the world but I just taught myself this last night so bear with me! The weight of the yellow yarn is not right and the Blue Sky Alpacas is more along the lines of the yarn called for:

Broomstick Lace 003

Broomstick Lace 001

How am I doing for a newbie?? I now know how to chain, Single Crochet, Double Crochet and do broomstick lace! All self taught! *smiles prouldy* anyway….

Oh another exciting thing – I’ve got my first pattern up on Ravelry! It’s not the most complex pattern, and I made it up like, four years ago when I was teaching myself how to do cables… but It’s really exciting to see something I made go up in people’s queues and in their favorites! I can’t wait to see peoples’ FOs! Here’s my original, four-year-old cable mini scarf:
Cabled Mini 002
I really adore that little scarf and wear it more than anything else I’ve ever made, besides my Princess Mitts which, speaking of which, a MASTIFF (yes, one of the most gigantic dogs on the planet!….) had in her mouth the other day. I washed the mitts (they were dripping with drool.. ew) and have yet to see if she tore a hole in the one that she was focusing on. Hope nothing is damaged 😦

Until next time ladies (and gents, if you’re reading!!)

One Response to “Long Time No See”

  1. For someone who just learned to crochet a little while ago, those swtches are awesome! I on’t know how to crochet at all, but I keep meaning to learn.

    You asked about my sheep tape measure- I don’t remember where I got it, but it was online, and I know lots of knitting sites have them. If you googled sheep tap emeasure, you’ll find tonnes of them. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

