couldn’t think of a good name for this post ;)

27Apr08

It’s been a very long week — and it’s already Sunday. I have to go back to work tomorrow and I’m not looking forward to it! 😦

But I do have some updates for you…

I finished the body of my tree jacket, and the fit/length is great! I started to work on the left hand sleeve but then got sidetracked with reading Knitting Without Tears and working on the February Baby Sweater from The Knitter’s Almanac. Both are my first two Elizabeth Zimmermann books and I’ve heard that you either love her or hate her and her chattiness. I have to say she is truly charming and I find myself laughing out loud reading some of the things she wrote. Plus, the knowledge and information she left behind is truly indispensible. I’ve already started sketching out my own sweater designs and now I’m already thinking that I can do them! She is THAT inspiring! But yes, tree jacket will be done, hopefully by the beginning of May! I really love the fit and the color. My only concern is that I didn’t choose the right yarn for it… but I think I will work on that one this evening to just get it off my needles ASAP… I think the baby jacket will have to be grown into, anyway 😉

I also got some advice from my LYS about what to do with my somewhat cowl raglan increases since the arm will be toooo big where it’s at now and still having another inch to increase in. So hopefully I’ll pick that back up soon.. but, look what I got earlier this week:

Random 001

I am sooo excited to have some copies of this magazine. I treated myself earlier this month and they finally came and I literally want to make EVERYTHING out of them… so I may just put everything on hold and knit something from the new spring copy! If you haven’t seen the contents, check out the preview. Everything in here is to die for!

Something else that was pretty cool this week was the Knitting Daily post about the secrets of the yarn collectors. That was my name and my comment right there in that post – I’m the one who doesn’t know how to collect/stash yarn but I am desparate to start and have one. lol. I even went to my LYS on Thursday AND Friday in search of SOMETHING…. ANYTHING but… I still couldn’t bring myself to buy anything. I guess I’ll still have to work on my inability to buy anything truly due to undecidedness and hesitance. lol. I’m definitely not an impulse shopper, that’s for sure!! Once I pay the taxes/registration on my new car and see how much I’ve got left, I will splurge – believe me! Until next time!



6 Responses to “couldn’t think of a good name for this post ;)”

  1. I had a brain fart in the yarn store only once. Geez, I wish you lived closer to New York. I know about 10 yarn shops that we could go to, and you would NOT be disappointed. I am so glad thatypu are working on the tree sweater. I told you it was gonna look good on you. I can’t wait to see pictures.

  2. I’ve yet to read Zimmerman (shocking, I know) but she sounds very inspirational!
    Can’t wait to see your designs. Post a sketch 🙂 I love seeing designers thoughts/ideas.

  3. 3 Siga

    I haven’t bought any Phildar issue yet, but I am very tempted, especially after seeing the previews. They have such great stuff! (Thanks for backing my idea at SKC!)

  4. Hi!!! I tagged you on my blog. So, now you have more content for your next post!! hehe!!! Enjoy!!

  5. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Demagogical.

  6. I so need those magazines. I am definitely going to have to sell a kid or something to get them. MODERN knits! YEAH


Leave a comment